Connect with us


Gov. Nasir swears in Gwandu Local Government Chairman



IMG 20230622 WA0039

By: Abdullahi Faruk Birnin Kebbi


Kebbi State Governor, Dr. Nasir Idris, has sworn in Hon. Atiku Ahmad Mandiya as new Chairman of Gwandu Local Government Area.

The oath of office and allegiance was administered by the Acting Chief Judge of the State, Justice Umar Abubakar at Government House, Birnin Kebbi.

The Governor was represented by his deputy, Senator Umar Abubakar Tafida at the occasion.

Speaking shortly after the swearing-in , Senator Umar Abubakar Tafida charged the Chairman to be honest, firm fair and hardworking in the discharge of his duties.

He averred ‘ You use to be the Vice chairman before , but now you are sworn in as the Chairman, you will have more responsibilities.

‘ I urged you to be fair, firm, honest and hardworking and you should come up with projects to move your local Government forward in terms of providing jobs that will uplift the living standard of your people “, he said.

Tafida, while congratulating him emphasized and reiterated his advice to the Chairman to maintain honesty and transperancy in the discharge of his responsibility.

One of the stakeholders from Gwandu local Government Area,Rt. Hon. Hassan Muhammad Shalla, immediate past Commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education , expressed gratitude to the governor on behalf of people of Gwandu especially the APC family of the area.

Important personalities who attended the occasion include the SSG, Alhaji Yakubu Bala Tafidan Yauri, Head of Service, Alhaji Safiyanu Garba Bena, State APC Chairman, Abubakar Muhammad Kana as well as politicians.

It will be recalled that prior to his swearing in as the Chairman of Gwandu Local Government Area, Hon. Atiku Ahmad Mandiya was the Vice chairman of the local Government.

The former Chairman of the local Government Area, Hon. Atiku Bello Kuriya contested and won the State House of Assembly seat representing Gwandu which saw the emergence of his deputy, Hon. Ahmad Mandiya as the Chairman of the local Government.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *