Connect with us


INEC declares APC’s Buni winner of Yobe guber election



IMG 20230319 WA0619

Bala Dauda, Damaturu


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Gov Mai Mala Buni of Yobe and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the state’s 2023 governorship election.

Declaring the result in Damaturu, the Returning Officer, Prof. Umaru Pate, said Buni polled 317,113 votes to defeat his closest opponent and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Alhaji Sherif Abdullahi, who scored 124, 259 votes.

“ That Buni Mai Mala of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner of the election, and returned elected,” he said.

Pate, also the Vice Chancellor, Federal University Kashere in Gombe, said the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) candidate, Alhaji Garba Umar, came a distant third with 14,246 votes, while the Action Alliance (AA) candidate, Arabi Mohammed,polled 3,260.

The returning officer said ADP scored 1,425, APM, 1,288, ADC, 956, YPP, 734, SDP, 547, LP 428, while APP polled 311.

He said the total registered voters in the election were 1,485,141, total accredited voters, 459,492, valid votes, 444,567, rejected votes, 13,214, while votes cast stood at 457,781.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *