Connect with us


Tribunal receives 6 Petitions in Kebbi not 8— Secretary



images 17

By: Abdullahi Faruk Birnin Kebbi


The attention of kebbi state Election tribunal has been drawn to story published online by guardian newspaper quoted tribunal receives 8 in the state. First and foremost the story is untrue and is misleading and misinformation to the general public.

As it was reported earlier by many newspapers that the Election Tribunal in Kebbi State had received six (6) petitions on the Feb. 25 National Assembly elections in the state, that’s the true position not 8 as Guardian newspaper reported.

The secretary of the tribunal, Abdul-Rahaman Muhammad, clarify that he had not granted an interview with any of the guardian newspaper correspondent in Birnin Kebbi or somewhere else, said that six of the Petitions were received and four is for House of Representatives elections and two for the Senate, making the total of six petitions received so far.

He urges guardian newspaper to immediately withdrawn the story and tender an apology or recurrent the story. He then appealed to the general public to ignore the said story published online by guardian newspaper which is misleading and misinformation.

However, the tribunal secretary Abdul-Rahaman, reiterated that Bala Ibn Na’Allah the candidate of All progress Congress (APC) in Kebbi south senatorial district has filed a petition with suit marked number EPT/ KB/SEN/ 01/ 2023 challenging the election outcome of Garba Musa of people’s Democratic party (PDP). He added that All progress Congress (APC) candidate for Kebbi Central senatorial district, Abubakar Atiku Bagudu has also filed a petition with suit marked number EPT/BK/ SEN/02/ 2023 challenging outcome of the election of Muhammad Adamu Aliero of the people’s Democratic party (PDP).

The secretary said that Petitions were also filed by candidates of All progress Congress (APC) professor Muktar Umar Bunza with suit marked number EPT/ KB/HR/04/2023 challenging the elections outcome of Ibrahim Muhammad of PDP for Birnin Kebbi/ Kalgo/Bunza federal constituencies, Muhammad Bala Usman of People’s Democratic party (PDP) with suit marked number EPT) KB/ HR/02/ 2023 challenging election outcome of Dr. Yusuf Tanko Sununu for Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski federal constituencies, and Muhammad Umar Jega with suit marked number EPT/ KB/ HR/ 03/ 2023 challenging election outcome of Mansir Musa of PDP for Gwandu/Jega/Aliero federal constituencies. He however, said other included Bello Kabiru with suit marked number EPT/KB/HR/ 01/ 2023 challenging election outcome of Bello A. Kaoje for Suru/ Bagudo federal constituencies.

According to him, the aggrieved candidates have 21 days from the date of the announcement of the election to file a petition before tribunal. The tribunal will fix date for commencement of hearing after completion of exchanging of court processes from the both parties.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *